At first glance the rules seemed a little complicated for an MFZ game, but upon digestion I think I've fallen in love with them. I'm gearing up for some plays this week so I can see how they pan out in play.
That said, I have a few questions on rules I might be hazy on:
- When you launch frames, you can launch them to any target not in cover? Does this include the ship launching them, if you want the for more local work/cover purposes, say?
- If a ship has two catapults, does it carry two companies, or just get 2 black dice? If it gets two companies how many can it launch per turn? (I assume 1)
- If a frame company leaves a target it is attached to, can it move to and attach to another ship? I don't think I see any rules for becoming attached to ships without being launched at them. Is that intentional or does just moving the company into contact with the target let you attach?
- Can ships that have been boarded and captured can be controlled as if they were your own? Also you only retain possession of a ship for as long as you have a company on it, but does this apply to HVAs or do they work just like stations in :RA? I can sort of see both ways, but that would make capturing them with ships wonky.
- Can HVAs be attacked or destroyed? They have dice unlike stations, but that seems like it would lead to a lot of shooting defenseless civilian targets. And even if just blowing up civilian shipping a la WWI U-boat attacks could make sense in space-war, that doesn't seem in style.
- Frame companies count as tactical assets, but don't score points? So in a two player game, if I bring say, 4 fully-loaded cruisers, and four frame companies, and my opponent brings 1 cruiser and 4 frigates, and 2 frame companies, I start with 4ppa (5, -1 for having more tactical assets, nothing as we each have 16 ship systems), and 28 points (4 ships and 3 HVAs x4ppa) and he has 6ppa and 48 points?
- Does a ship start at 3 movement every turn? Or does it retain its "momentum" (which then has to be tracked) between rounds?
- If a ship leaves the battlefield, is it out of play/counts as destroyed? I think that's a rule in :RA (but it never really made sense since there's no forced movement) Also, I'm completely in love with the movement rules. I remember reading vector-movement rules on Vincent Baker's blog years ago and this seems like a much-improved version.
Anyway, thanks! I cannot wait to test-run this!